Endorsements 2017-09-16T10:59:49+00:00

Jim Merritt for Mayor Endorsements 2017
Endorsed by Democrats, Republicans, and Independents. Check back for updates and additions!

WEA-Tacoma Council

Tacoma Teachers & Educators support Jim Merritt for his commitment to public education, teachers, students, and their families.

Central Puget Sound Carpenters Local 30

Jim made his way through college as a carpenter’s apprentice in the union for three years. He considers it a serious honor to be endorsed by Central Puget Sound Carpenters Local 30 for his commitment to working people.

The Sierra Club

Jim is proud to have the endorsement of the The Sierra Club Tatoosh Group of Pierce County and the Sierra Club Washington State Chapter for his 30+ year commitment to balancing business and sustainability.

Pierce County Young Democrats

The Pierce County Young Democrats have endorsed Jim Merritt based on his commitment to democratic values and mission to change the culture of our local government, where young people have a voice in the city of Tacoma.

29th LD Democrats

The 29th LD Democrats are part of the south end community. They support Jim for his commitment to making sure democracy works for the many, not just the few.

Master Builders of Pierce County Affordable Housing Council

Master Builders of Pierce County Affordable Housing Council endorses Jim Merritt for Mayor of Tacoma because he understands the affordable housing supply challenges in the Tacoma and has the right approach to solving them.

Tacoma Federation of ParaEducators

Tacoma Federation of ParaEducators are union members, education employees, and community members who care deeply about human rights and the genuine opportunity to live a dignified and fulfilling life. Jim Merritt is proud to have their endorsement.

Tacoma Advocates for Retirement Action

Tacoma Advocates for Retirement Action, made up of retired union activists, has endorsed Jim Merritt based on his commitment to the labor movement and working people.

Tacoma Police Union Local 6

Tacoma Police endorse Jim Merritt for his commitment to restoring funding to public safety and ensuring Tacoma is a safe place for everyone to live and raise a family.

Associated General Contractors of America

Associated General Contractors of America support Jim Merritt because of his commitment to quality projects and collaborative approach to solutions in Tacoma.

28th LD Democrats

The 28th LD Democrats, of the West side, are proud to support Jim Merritt for his demonstrated commitment to Democratic values.

Tacoma Pierce County Association of Realtors

Jim Merritt believes Tacoma can become the economic engine for all of Southwest Washington and the Olympic Peninsula. TPCAR supports Jim Merritt for his strong business sense and dedication to smart growth.

Dawn Lucien

Dawn Lucien

(1926 – 2017)
Former Tacoma City Council, the “Matriarch of Tacoma”
Former chair of the campaign Jim Merritt for Mayor (2017)
Dawn worked with Jim on many community initiatives: Saving the 11th street bridge, UWT location proposal, and more

Willie Stewart

Willie Stewart

Teacher, veteran, mentor, community leader; first black principal in Tacoma School District (Lincoln High School)

Patsy Surh O’Connell

Patsy Surh O’Connell

Founder/President at Asia Pacific Cultural Center

Esther Day

Esther Day

Director of Communications at Puget Sound Latino Chamber of Commerce; South end resident

Joe Stortini

Joe Stortini

Former Washington State Senator for the 27th district; Democrat

Jan Shabro

Jan Shabro

Former Pierce County Council; Former Washington State House of Representatives 31st district; Republican

Lonnie Hampton

Lonnie Hampton

Retired Tacoma Firefighter

Mike Crowley

Mike Crowley

Former Mayor of Tacoma

Donna Thompson

Donna Thompson

Community leader;  Environmentalist

Carly Snapp

Carly Snapp

Mother, small business owner; Collaborated with Jim on many community projects; North end resident

Clay Zhang

Clay Zhang

Real Estate Investor; Democrat

The Scheidt Family

The Scheidt Family

Eastside Neighborhood council; Eastside residents

Chester Earl

Distinguished Puyallup Tribe community leader, advocate

Carol Baarsma

Former Kitsap County Assessor; Community leader, advocate, influencer

Randy Dorn

Former Washington State Superintendent of Public Instruction and Former Washington State House Representative; Believes fully funding education is a civil rights issue

Anne Artman

Program Director at the Tacoma Recovery Cafe

Ron Richardson

Retired Vice President of the International Hotel Workers Union

Randy Cook


Managing Principal

TCF Architecture PLLC

Minh-anh Hodge

Former director of the Tacoma Public Schools English Language Learners department

Greg Mowat

Long Standing Community Leader

Tacoma-Pierce County Association of Realtors
Sierra Club
Tacoma Advocates for Retirement Action
28th Legislative District Democrats
Frye Building Group LLC
Steel Creek Tacoma LLC
Associated General Contractors of Washington
Master Builders Association of Pierce County Affordable Housing Council
Anthony Carino
Bill and Sharon Kaufmann
Christine Andersen
Dawn Lucien
Don and Pat Clifford
Donna Thompson
Dr. Jon Kvinsland
Dr. Michael Jones
Eugene & Kathleen Wiegman
Forrest German
Gar Hansen HHJ INC
Gil Quante
Greg Mowat
Joe and Julie Quilici
Joe Schnieder
Joe Stortini
John and Karen Trueman
Karl Anderson
Kenneth and Sharon Bumgarner
Kim and Cynthia Nakamura
Larry Treleven
Less Cathersal
Lonnie Hampton
Mary Jo Strom-Copland
Paul Birkey
Randy Melquist
Ray Schuler
Robert Weyrick
Roger Hansen HHJ INC
Ron and Jeanette Lunceford
Ron Morrison
Ron Richardson
Scott Carino
Steve Williams
William Johnston
Willie Stewart
Hal Howell
Jan Shabro-Howell (State Rep. 31st Dist. County Council Dist 1)
Nigel Malden
Joy Keniston-Longrie
James Benoit
Jeff and Susan Lyon
Bonnie Cargol
Elizabeth Burris
Bea Christophersen
Wendell Stroud
Roger Lilley
Greg and Kelly Bolles
Neil Gray
Kyle “Skip” Smith
Charles and Ann Brock
John Thomas
Randy Dorn (former Washington Superintendent of Public Instruction and former Washington State House Representative)
Whit Worcester
Caryl Minish Worcester
Mary E Robnett
Ben Lincoln
Barbara Mead
Henry Haas
And More…